TCR South America kicks off its 2021 championship in Interlagos

The contest will begin in Interlagos with a fleet of 12 cars, of which ten have their drivers confirmed. Among them are two Argentines.

¡Automundo also in GOOGLE NEWS!

El TCR South America will begin its first championship this weekend at the Brazilian circuit of Interlagos. In this first commitment of the year there will be 12 machines, although ten have confirmed pilots. The park is packed with Brazilian teams and drivers; while the Argentine representation will be subscribed to a team and two drivers.

The park is smaller than expected, but this has a reason: the coronavirus The Center made it difficult for a good part of the teams to receive the vehicles from Europe in a timely manner. There are several in the Brazilian customs waiting to have the OK to be in the hands of their owners.

TCR South AmericaThis version of the successful TCR concept plans to appear at Brazil, Argentina, Chile y Uruguay in the next six months, as long as countries' restrictions to control the COVID-19 pandemic don't get in the way of their plans.

The Brazilians are in the majority with five teams: Cobra Racing, PropCar Racing Team, MC Tubarão, W2 Racing y Scuderia FJ. Argentina is only represented by the Squadra Martino, property of Sebastian Martino. Its pilots are also Argentine, Jose Manuel Sapag y Ayrton chorne.

As for the models that will make history in Interlagos there are four Audi RS 3 LMS, four Honda Civic Type R, two Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce and two Hyundai elantra n, it is not yet known who will run them.

The action will start on Friday with two training sessions, from 11.30 to 12.30 and from 14 to 14.30. The Saturday there will be a new free practice, from 8.10 to 8.40; and the classification, which will take place from 14.30:15.25 to XNUMX:XNUMX. The Sunday The two races will take place, the first one will start at 8:43 and the second at 9.52. Both will be about 25 minutes plus one lap. Both the timed run and the competitions can be seen on the platform TCR TV.


10 Adalberto Baptista (Brazil) Audi RS 3 LMS Cobra Racing
11 Paul Holton (United States) Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce PropCar Racing Team
12 Márcio Basso (Brazil) Audi RS 3 LMS MC Tubarão
13 Rodrigo Baptista (Brazil) Audi RS 3 LMS Cobra Racing
16 Fabio Casagrande (Brazil) Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce PropCar Racing Team
25 Ayrton Chorne (Argentina) Honda Civic Type R Squadra Martino
33 José Manuel Sapag (Argentina) Honda Civic Type R Squadra Martino
37 Guilherme Reischl (Brazil) Audi RS 3 LMS MC Tubarão
74 Pepe Oriola (Spain) Honda Civic Type R W2 Racing
77 Raphael Reis (Brazil) Honda Civic Type R W2 Racing
- To confirm Hyundai elantra n Scuderia FJ
- To confirm Hyundai elantra n Scuderia FJ

Related content


Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More information

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker