Formula E: Da Costa made history in Ad Diriyah

The BMW Andretti driver prevailed in the first race of the Gen2 with greater autonomy. Pechito López left after fighting forward.

¡Automundo also in GOOGLE NEWS!

The Portuguese Antonio Felix Da Costa (BMW Andretti) remained in the history of the electric category Formula E by winning the first date of the 2018/2019 season that was held on the streets of Ad Diriyah (Saudi Arabia) and thus be the first driver to lead the Gen2, the new generation vehicle with greater autonomy.

Formula E: Da Costa made history in Ad Diriyah
Da Costa, Vergne and D'Ambrosio, the first podium of season 5 of Formula E. (Photo: LAT Images)

Da Costa, who started from pole position, was escorted by the French champion Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Techeetah) and the Belgian Jérome D'Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing). The Argentinian Jose Maria Lopez (Dragon Racing), meanwhile, started from third place, reached second place, but abandoned due to an oversight that damaged the suspension of his vehicle.

The opening of the contest was complicated by bad weather, something that forced the first training session to be canceled. However, the competition took place under normal conditions. In this appointment the Attack Mode, an area in which the car has more power to facilitate overcoming (it goes from 220 kW to 225 kW). Precisely, this system allowed Vergne to strip López of second place.

Formula E: Da Costa made history in Ad Diriyah
José María López was the protagonist, but he dropped out. (Photo: LAT Images).

The fight between Da Costa and Vergne for the victory was very intense to the point that both crossed the finish line separated by 462/1000. D'Ambrosio, meanwhile, came within more than four seconds of the leaders.

The Gen2 (equipped with the Halo) allowed the drivers to compete without the need to enter the pits to change vehicles, as was the norm in the first four seasons of the specialty. Thanks to the greater autonomy of the batteries, the competitors had no problems completing the test, which took 45 minutes plus one lap, as they arrived with up to 15 percent of energy still available.

Formula E: Da Costa made history in Ad Diriyah
The Gen2s successfully approved their first engagement. (Photo: LAT Images)


The brazilian Felipe Massa had its debut in Formula E with the team Venturi. The ex F1 he made it to the top ten in the standings, but a drive-through for a technical infraction delayed him to 14th place. The Belgian did not have a good debut either Stoffel vandoorne (HWA), who until last November ran for McLaren at the Maximum. He led a practice session, started fifth, but finished 17th.


In the streets of Ad Diriyah the official presentation of the Jaguar I Pace eTrophy, the opening category of Formula E. The victory in the brand new division, which presented a dozen electric I Paces, it was for the New Zealander Simon Evans, brother of the official Jaguar pilot, Mitch Evans. His escorts were the Brazilian Sergio Jimenez, who on the penultimate lap overtook the American Bryan sellers. An acquaintance of the Argentines also ran in this competition: the Brazilian Cacá Good, which finished fourth ahead of the British Alice powell y Katherine legge.

The second date of the Formula E tournament will be the January 12 in Marrakech, Morocco.


1. Antonio Felix da Costa (POR / BMW i Andretti Motorsport), 46m29s377
2. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA / DS Techeetah) at 0s462
3. Jerome D'Ambrosio (BEL / Mahindra Racing) at 4s033
4. Mitch Evans (ING / Panasonic Jaguar Racing) at 5s383
5. Andre Lotterer (ALE / DS Techeetah) at 5s579
6. Sebastien Buemi (SUI / Nissan e.dams) at 6s625
7. Oliver Rowland (ING / Nissan e.dams) at 9s105
8. Daniel Abt (ALE / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) at 9s819
9. Lucas di Grassi (BRA / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) at 10s936
10. Nelson Piquet Jr. (BRA / Panasonic Jaguar Racing) at 11s564
PILOTS CHAMPIONSHIP: 1) Da Costa, 28 points; 2) Vergne, 18; 3) D'Ambrosio, 15; 4) Evans, 12; 5) Andre Lotterer, 11; 6) Buemi, 8; 7) Rowland, 6; 8) Abt, 4; 3) Di Grassi, 2; 1) Piquet Jr., 1. TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP: 1) DS Techeetah, 29 points; 2) BMW i Andretti Motorsport, 28; 3) Mahindra Racing, 15; 4) Nissan e.dams, 14; 5) Panasonic Jaguar Racing, 13; 6) Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, 6.

Related content


Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More information

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker