Formula E: The FIA ​​authorizes nine manufacturers

The International Automobile Federation announced the nine manufacturers authorized to deliver powertrains for the Formula E electric category from its fifth season (2018/2019), which will mark a turning point since the duration of the batteries will allow them to compete in a Complete ePrix with just one car and not two like today. The chosen ones were ABT, DS, Jaguar, Mahindra, NextEV NIO, Penske, Renault, Venturi and BMW.

“This announcement shows that motor racing can stimulate and accelerate the development of new technologies that can be applied to road cars. In this case they have a key value since electricity is one of the practical alternatives in terms of new forms of sustainable mobility for the future ”, commented Frenchman Jean Todt, President of the FIA.

While the Spanish Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, highlighted: “When we started the category in 2012 we had planned to secure at least three manufacturers for the fifth season. The confirmation from the FIA ​​triples our initial expectations and demonstrates the relevance of the FE in the automotive industry and its attractiveness to new audiences and business partners ”.


[sam_pro id = "0_2" codes = "true"]



Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More info

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker