Indy 500: Ed Carpenter, The Specialist

The American Ed carpenter, with a car of his own team, will start from pole position in the 2018 edition of the Indianapolis 500, a traditional Yankee motorsport competition that will take place next Sunday the 27th.

Indy 500: Ed Carpenter, The SpecialistCarpenter ranked first on the four-kilometer oval with an average 369,53 km/h for the four laps at launched speed. "It means a lot to me to achieve a position like this."said the 37-year-old, who also achieved a similar result in 2013 and 2014.

The poleman had the fastest lap of the day at 370,211 km / h and never dropped below 368 km / h in any of his laps. “That first lap left me speechless. I knew we had more to go, but I didn't expect such speed "He said.

The first row is completed by the French Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske), after achieving an average of 368,076 km / h, and the Australian Will Power (Team Penske), which established an average of 367,828 km / h.

The Japanese Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan), winner of last year's Indy 500, will start 16th. While the American Danica Patrick (Ed Carpenter Racing), who will retire from motorsport after this competition, will start seventh. For his part, his compatriot Kyle kaiser, who races with a car from the Juncos Racing team of Argentine Ricardo Juncos, will start 17th.

44Lewis Hamilton (GBR)Mercedes-AMG Petronas MotorsportMercedesMercedes
77Valtteri Bottas (FIN)Mercedes-AMG Petronas MotorsportMercedesMercedes
5Sebastian Vettel (ALE)Scuderia Ferrari Mission WinnowFerrariFerrari
16Charles Leclerc (MON)Scuderia Ferrari Mission WinnowFerrariFerrari
33Max Verstappen (HOL)Aston Martin Red Bul RacingRed BullHonda
10Pierre Gasly (FRA)Aston Martin Red Bul RacingRed BullHonda
3Daniel Ricciardo (AUS)Renault F1 TeamRenaultRenault
27Nico Hülkenberg (ALE)Renault F1 TeamRenaultRenault
8Romain Grosjean (FRA)Rich Energy Haas F1 TeamHaasFerrari
20Kevin Magnussen (DIN)Rich Energy Haas F1 TeamHaasFerrari
55Carlos Sainz (ESP)McLaren F1 TeamMcLarenRenault
4Lando Norris (GBR)McLaren F1 TeamMcLarenRenault
11Sergio Pérez (MEX)Racing Point F1 TeamRaicing pointMercedes
18Lance Stroll (CAN)Racing Point F1 TeamRaicing pointMercedes
7Kimi Räikkönen (END)Alfa Romeo RacingCleanFerrari
99Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA)Alfa Romeo RacingCleanFerrari
26Daniil Kvyat (RUS)Red Bull Toro Rosso HondaToro RossoHonda
23Alexander Albon (TAI)Red Bull Toro Rosso HondaToro RossoHonda
63George Russel (GBR)Williams RacingWilliamsMercedes
88Robert Kubica (POL) Williams RacingWilliamsMercedes



Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Related articles

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More info

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker