Rain won the Belgian Grand Prix

Bad weather prevented Formula 1 from developing its presentation at Spa-Francorchamps in a normal way. "Won" Max Verstappen (Red Bull) -

¡autoworld also in GOOGLE NEWS!

The return to the activity of the F1 After the summer break it was not as expected due to the bad weather, which prevented the Belgian Grand Prix will develop normally. In fact, they only disputed four turns for the race to award half the score.

The victory in this watery presentation of the F.1 remained for the Dutch Max Verstappen (Red Bull), who started from pole position. This situation also allowed the British George Russell (Williams) reach his first podium and bring joy to the Grove team. While his compatriot finished third Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), who despite the few units awarded remains at the forefront of the tournament.

F1 Belgium 2021
Photo: Peter Fox / Getty Images.

The beginning of the test developed in Spa-Francorchamps it was delayed for more than three hours. Although it exceeded the regulatory limit, the authorities relied on the International Sporting Code to take the liberty of waiting longer.

Finally, at 18.17 crazy time, the vehicles took to the track behind the safety car and thus completed the necessary turns so that the visit to Belgium was not in vain. After just over ten minutes of "action," the Red flag the Belgian GP ended to the annoyance of the thousands of fans who were in the grandstand and those who followed her on TV.

Before making this decision, several measures were analyzed, such as run on monday, something that was later discarded due to the delays that this would have caused the teams to arrive in a timely manner to Netherlands, scene of the 13th appointment next weekend.

F1 Belgium 2021The only emotional alternative on Sunday was the Mexican's dismissal Sergio Pérez (Red Bull) shortly after the track was cleared when the test was expected to start at 15:XNUMX. In the incident, the right suspension of the vehicle was damaged, which was finally repaired taking advantage of the delay for the start of the GP.

Pérez, who was supposed to start seventh, started last from the pits and ended up in that position, wanting to try to score points for the team with which he renewed the agreement for 2022.

"It is a shame not to have been able to do more laps, but the conditions were delicate", Verstappen estimated. “The credit today goes to the fans who endured on the circuit all day in the rain, with the cold and the wind. They are the big winners today ", he pointed.

"I hope they give the money back to the fans”, Stated Hamilton, who estimated that "Money has spoken." And I add: "I'm a bit confused, why relaunch the race when the weather hadn't improved during the break?", he asked himself.

The 2021 Belgian Grand Prix was, in short, as the shortest in history behind 1991 Australian GP, which was stopped with 14 laps due to inclement weather. That race was won by the Brazilian Ayrton Senna (McLaren). Likewise, a competition returned to deliver half a score after the 2009 Malaysian GP, also stopped by bad weather.


post No. pilot auto laps time / diff. Pts.
1 33 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING HONDA 2 3:27.071 12.5
2 63 George Russell WILLIAMS MERCEDES 2 +1.995s 9
3 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 2 +2.601s 7.5
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo MCLAREN MERCEDES 2 +4.496s 6
5 5 Sebastian Hag ASTON MARTIN MERCEDES 2 +7.479s 5
6 10 Pierre gasly ALPHATAURI HONDA 2 +10.177s 4
7 31 Esteban Or with ALPINE-RENAULT 2 +11.579s 3
8 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 2 +12.608s 2
9 6 Nicholas Latifi WILLIAMS MERCEDES 2 +15.485s 1
10 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 2 +16.166s 0.5
11 14 Fernando Alonso ALPINE-RENAULT 2 +20.590s 0
12 77 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 2 +22.414s 0
13 99 Antonio Giovinazzi ALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI 2 +24.163s 0
14 4 Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES 2 +27.110s 0
15 22 Yuki Tsunoda ALPHATAURI HONDA 2 +28.329s 0
16 47 Mick Schumacher HAAS-FERRARI 2 +29.507s 0
17 9 Nikita mazepin HAAS-FERRARI 2 +31.993s 0
18 18 Throw Stroll ASTON MARTIN MERCEDES 2 +34.108s 0
19 7 Whom Raikkönen ALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI 2 +36.054s 0
20 11 Sergio Pérez RED BULL RACING HONDA 2 +38.205s 0

DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP: 1) Hamilton, 202,5 points; 2) Verstappen, 199,5; 3) Norris, 113; 4) Bottas, 108; 5) Pérez, 104; 6) Sainz, 83,5; 7) Leclerc, 82; 8) Ricciardo, 56; 9) Gasly, 54; 10) Ocon, 42; 11) Alonso, 38; 12) Vettel, 35; 13) Tsunoda and Stroll, 18 15) Russell, 13; 16) Latifi, 7; 17) Raikkonen, 2; 18) Giovinazzi, 1.

BUILDERS CUP: 1) Mercedes, 310.5 points; 2) Red Bull-Honda, 303.5; 3) McLaren-Mercedes, 169; 4) Ferrari, 165.5; 5) Alpine-Renault, 80; 6) AlphaTauri-Honda, 72; 7) Aston Martin-Mercedes, 53; 8) Williams-Mercedes, 20; 9) Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, 3.

Related content


autoworld is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruti.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. Learn More
Privacy policy

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker