The three cars that dominated the Dakar in South America

Since the Dakar arrived in South America in 2009 only three cars have achieved victories. The success story began on VW Race Touareg II of the Volkswagen team, which was invincible until 2011. In the following four editions, the glory was for the MINI All4Racing of the X-Raid Team; while this year the Peugeot 2008 DKR of Team Peugeot Total. Here are the details of each one ...

VW Race Touareg II
Machine: Volkswagen Motorsport.
Participations: 3.
Victories: 3 (2009, 2010 and 2011).
Triumphs in stages: 33.
Champion drivers: Giniel De Villiers (2009), Carlos Sainz (2010) and Nasser Al-Attiyah (2011).
Transfer: Double traction.
Weight: 1.750 kilos.
Engine: 2.5 TDI (285 horses).

MINI All4Racing

MINI All4Racing
Machine: X-Raid Team.
Participations: 6.
Victories: 4 (2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015).
Triumphs in stages: 34.
Champion drivers: Stéphane Peterhansel (2012 and 2013), Nani Roma (2014) and Nasser Al-Attiyah.
Transfer: Double traction.
Weight: 1.935 kg.
Engine: 3.0 Turbodiesel (320 horses).
Maximum speed: 180 km / h.

Peugeot 2008 DKR

Peugeot 2008 DKR
: Team Peugeot Total.
Participations: 2.
Victories: 1 (2016).
Triumphs in stages: 9.
Champion driver: Stéphane Peterhansel (2016).
Transfer: Two wheel drive.
Weight: 1.280 kg.
Engine: 3.2 V6 biturbo (340 hp).
Maximum speed: 200 km / h.



Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More information

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker