Porsche celebrated in the Green Hell

Porsche celebrated in the Green Hell
The winners.

El Porsche 911 GT3 R. conducted by Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy, Richard Lietz y Frédéric Makowiecki won the 2018 edition of the 24 Hours of Nürburgring, the most important competition in German motorsports.

The Manthey-Racing team's nine-eleven took the lead with 70 minutes remaining in the race and crossed the checkered flag in that position. This is Porsche's first victory at the legendary track since 2011 and marks the brand's twelfth triumph in the Green Hell.

The No. 911 Porsche 3 GT912 R started the race on Saturday, at 15:30, from sixth on the grid and in bright sunshine, but was severely delayed by a puncture. During the night, its pilots caught up with the leading group and placed second, despite a penalty.

When the race resumed at 13.45:135 PM on Sunday after it was stopped by fog, the last driver to get into the car, Makowiecki, took the lead with a masterful overtaking and crossed the finish line first with XNUMX laps completed.

“It was truly the race of the century, just something indescribable under the circumstances: rain, red flag and that incredibly tough finish. In no other endurance event in the world are two pilots competing in sprinting for an hour and a half. Fred has achieved the victory with his sensational overtaking. I hope Wolfgang Porsche is satisfied with this present (which is a little late) for his 75th birthday. ", he claimed Frank-Steffen Walliser, Vice President of Motorsport and GT Vehicles.

Porsche celebrated in the Green HellThe 24 Hours of Nürburgring is one of the most important motor races in the world and this year attracted 210.000 viewers. In the classic Eifel event, more than 500 drivers in 148 cars. With 43 vehicles, Porsche was the brand with the strongest representation in this authentic marathon.

Porsche celebrated in the Green HellTHE PODIUM

MercedesLewis Hamilton (ING)Valtteri Bottas (FIN)
FerrariSebastian Vettel (ALE)Charles Leclerc (MON)
Red BullMax Verstappen (HOL)Pierre Gasly or Alex Albon
RenaultDaniel Ricciardo (AUS)Esteban Ocon (FRA)
Racing PointSergio Pérez (MEX)Lance Stroll (CAN)
McLarenCarlos Sainz (ESP)Lando Norris (ING)
Toro RossoDaniil Kvyat (RUS)Pierre Gasly or Alex Albon
Alfa Romeo RacingKimi Räikkönen (END)¿?
HaasKevin Mangnussen (DIN)Romain Grosjean (FRA)
WilliamsGeorge Russell (ING)Nico Hülkenberg?



Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Related articles

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More info

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker