Quads: Moreno won the stage and second place

¡autoworld also in GOOGLE NEWS!

In his debut in the toughest race on the planet, the Argentine Francisco Moreno achieved a stage victory on the last day and thus secured his second place in the general classification behind the forceful Alexandre giroud.

Alexandre Giroud (Yamaha) was the undisputed winner in the quad category. Photo: Alexandre Giroud Press

Argentina adds a new podium in the Dakar Rally and thus continues with a streak that has been maintained almost always since the event moved to South America, in 2009. Only in 2014 and 2020, the most extreme event on the planet did not have a flag light blue and white among the top three in some category.

This year, the person in charge of giving our country joy was a name that did not appear on the radars of the favorites but that with the passing of the stages was showing a regular rhythm that allowed him to climb positions slowly: the Mendoza Francisco Moreno.

At the command of a Yamaha Raptor assisted by the Drag'on team, Moreno He also managed to close his participation in 2022 with a stage victory on the last day. It was not a simple victory as he had to defend himself from the attack of Kamil Wisniewski that he tried until the last kilometer to snatch the victory and the second position in the general.

Ahead, Alexandre giroud He was able to celebrate his first title smoothly. The more than two hours that he had ahead of the chasing batch allowed him to travel the last 160 timed kilometers, between Bisha and Jeddah, without any pressure.

"It is spectacular. The Dakar Rally is a very very big race and it is very crazy to win it. I have no words to express what I feel”, said the Frenchman just after the last stage and before heading to Jeddah for the podium.

Dakar 2022 Quads - Stage 12 (164km):

1) F. Moreno (Yamaha) 2: 14.13
2) K. Wisniewski (Yamaha) +2.43
3) M. Medeiros (Yamaha) +7.42
4) Z.Tuma (Yamaha) +19.24
5) A.Giroud (Yamaha) +20.13

Dakar 2022 Quads - General after Stage 12:

1) A. Giroud (Yamaha) 50: 00.51
2) F. Moreno (Yamaha) +2: 21.11
3) K. Wisniewski (Yamaha) +2: 27.25
4) Z. Tuma (Yamaha) +8: 08.47
5) C. Verza (Yamaha) +19: 10.05

Related content


The entire Dakar 2022 rally in one place. News, interviews, follow-up to Argentines, results and much more.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. Learn More
Privacy policy

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker