What does it mean to achieve a Grand Chelem in F.1?

This is the perfect Grand Prix in which one driver dominates the classification, wins from end to end and takes the lap record. Do you know that since 1950 not many have achieved this feat?

El Perfect Grand Prize for a pilot of F1 is the one in which long from pole position, sets the lap record and crosses the finish line first after leading all laps. One could suppose that from 1950, when the first tournament was played, until today there were many runners who achieved that feat known as Grand Chelem. Nevertheless, the list is reduced to 24 pilots.

The first to do it was Juan Manuel Fangio at 1950 Monaco Grand Prix in which it was the second test in the history of the category. In that Monegasque GP, Chueco, who raced for Alfa Romeo, was the fastest in the classification with 1m50s2 / 10, achieved the fastest lap with 1m51s and led all 100 laps to achieve the first of his 24 victories in the F-1 in just over three hours of competition.

Juan Manuel Fangio.

The Balcarceño returned to achieve something similar six years later after winning the German GP at the Nürburgring, this time on a Ferrari. With those two Grand Chelem that he achieved during his campaign in the Maximum, Fangio is located in the tenth position of the historical table that heads Jim Clark with 8. Behind Scotch they share second place Alberto Ascari y Michael Schumacher with 5.

Then follows a quintet that recorded the Grand Chelem four times: Jackie Stewart, Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell, Sebastian Vettel y Lewis Hamilton, these last two pilots who are in activity. The third runner today that is also in this select group is Fernando Alonso, which achieved only one.


1. Jim Clark (GBR), 8
2. Alberto Ascari (ITA), 5
3. Michael Schumacher (ALE), 5
4. Lewis Hamilton (GBR), 5
5. Jackie Stewart (GBR), 4
6. Ayrton Senna (BRA), 4
7. Nigel Mansell (GBR), 4
8. Sebastian Vettel (ALE), 4
9. Nelson Piquet (BRA), 3
10. Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG), 2
11. Jack Brabham (AUS), 2
12. Mika Hakkinen (FIN), 2
13. Nico Rosberg (ALE), 2
14. Mike Hawthorn (GBR), 1
15. Stirling Moss (GBR), 1
16. Jo Siffert (SUI), 1
17. Jacky Ickx (BEL), 1
18. Clay Regazzoni (SUI), 1
19. Niki Lauda (AUT), 1
20. Jacques Laffite (FRA), 1
21. Gilles Villeneuve (CAN), 1
22. Gerhard Berger (AUT), 1
23. Damon Hill (GBR), 1
24. Fernando Alonso (ESP), 1



Automundo is the blog about news from the automotive industry, motorsport and the culture of the region. Director: Diego Durruty.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Back to top button
This website uses its own and third-party cookies for its proper functioning and for analytical purposes and to show you advertising related to your preferences based on a profile prepared from your browsing habits. By clicking the Accept button, you agree to the use of these technologies and the processing of your data for these purposes. More information

Adblock Detected

Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker